DIY Workout Shirt

So I have three kids. I just had baby #3 in May. When he was about three weeks old I was laying awake in the middle of the night nursing him for about the 10th time and it popped into my head that I should start lifting weights and get an awesome body and be in the best shape of my life—after having three kids!!! **Something you should know about me; I do not lack in BIG ideas. I love that quote from Alice in Wonderland: “Sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” That’s pretty much my life. I have lots and LOTS of big ideas and I tend to charge full speed ahead right away, usually without really knowing what I’m doing. Thank God for Google. Anyways, me getting in awesome shape is a really *big* idea. I’m not overweight or anything, however, it has been YEARS since I’ve really done anything athletic. I’m talking since high school. I actually used to be quite sporty and strong but literally haven’t done much of anything for, oh, about a decade.

I woke up that next day and did what I do best! Started googling workouts I could ease into, put together a meal plan, got some weights, dusted off my old Pumas and got to work. It’s only been 9ish weeks that I’ve been working out but let me tell you, an amazing thing has happened. I’m obsessed! It’s been HARD work, especially because I’ve got a shoddy hip replacement and a bunch of hardware in my right leg and foot that makes it really hard to do lots of things (that’s another story), but I really cannot believe how much I’ve seen my body change for the better and how strong it’s getting. I used to always want to be that bone thin girl (which is not me because I naturally have a more athletic looking body) but I’m proud of the muscle I’m getting and learning to love my body more every day. Can’t beat that.

So anyways, working out 5-6 days a week makes for a lot of stinky workout clothes and I’ve been running out of things to wear when I exercise. I see lots of different DIY t-shirt tutorials for working out so I thought I’d try one and see how it turned out. I’m happy to report that I love it! I wore it today for a beast workout in my basement. **Burpees may be the death of me.** Sorry the t-shirt I used was so wrinkly. But I couldn’t find one of my husbands that I wanted to use and I didn’t want to mess up on one of MY t-shirts. Haha! Sorry, dear. Ok, here’s the tutorial:

Step One: Cut off the sleeves, the collar, and the bottom of the t-shirt. I also played with the neck line a bit a cut it down lower, which you can see in the next photo.

image-10

 

Step Two: Make a “V” shape in the back of your t-shirt. Mine was a little too deep, but whatever! image-11

 

Step Three: Take the strip that you cut from the bottom of your t-shirt and thread it through the top of the shirt.

image-12

Step Four: Tie a knot in the middle. This will start the top of the back of your t-shirt.

image-13

Step Five: Begin wrapping the back straps together with strip of t-shirt on the right side by winding from the top and going down. Leave about an inch free. Do the same with the strip of shirt on the left side, except you’ll want to wrap in the opposite direction. Leave an inch free at the bottom with that piece, too. You’ll then take those two little pieces and tie a double knot at the bottom of the wrapped back. image-14

Step 6: Model your new gym shirt before you work out. Cute idea, no? The only thing I’d do different next time is cut the sides (like under the armpit area) a little lower. I think I’m going to go grab a few of my husband’s shirts and take the scissors to them now. Such a quick and easy way to get yourself some new gym clothes! image-15

7 thoughts on “DIY Workout Shirt

  1. Melissa says:

    Wow! I actually think I am a tiny step closer to beginning to start thinking about considering trying to work out. Is this inspiration I’m feeling? This is a first.
    Well maybe I really just want the cute shirt.

Leave a Reply

