Power Meal Recipe

photo

Ahhhh this cracks me up! New workout clothes are so wonderful. I mean, if you feel better in what you’re wearing then your workout will be awesome, right?! Probably not at all true, but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

I’m in love with the stuff from Fabletics-anybody else ordered from them? Basically you fill out a short little style profile, what type of workouts you do, etc. and they customize a bunch of outfits for you. You can get an entire outfit (pants, sports bra, shirt) for less than $50 as a VIP member. You will receive an outfit option each month via email so if you don’t want to order you have to make sure and ‘skip’ the month otherwise they charge your account for that month and you get a credit that you are then forced to buy an outfit with. I “forget” to skip a lot. Just kidding…maybe…

So I’ve really tried to step up my game with my diet for the last few months since starting to work on getting back in shape after baby. I’ve always eaten pretty healthy and really love fruit and vegetables, but I think if you don’t have a conscious plan in mind it’s easier to slip little bites of sugar or processed crap in here and there. I decided to eliminate sugar, white flour and dairy from my diet completely for now. Sugar and white flour pretty much speak for themselves as to why they’re so bad for you and as for the dairy, I happen to LOVE cheese, sour cream, yogurt, etc. and was eating way too much of it so it’s just easier for me to eliminate it completely. Sounds dumb, but that’s how I operate. And I actually feel SO, SO, SO much better since I did that and the weight has started coming off faster, too. Win/win. I think it’s been about 8 weeks now (minus a small cheat here and there!). Setting those specifics on my diet pretty much ensures that I have a meal plan for the week and spend a few hours one day a week preparing different things that I can easily grab from the fridge or whatever. When I get hungry I have no control over my actions so I will start maxin’ on whatever food is in sight. Thus, it’s imperative I keep only healthy food around and it must be prepared!

These power bowls are one of my favorite go to meals. I prefer them all mixed together and after they’ve sat in the fridge for a day so I usually make a big batch and then eat it for lunch over the next few days. Lots of protein so they’re perfect after a workout, too.

Onward to the recipe. Oh, and my photography stinks. I’m working on it. Photographing at night doesn’t help any. Anyways, you can really use whatever vegetables you have on hand but here’s my favorite mix. Squash, sweet potato, kale, beets, micro greens, garbanzo beans, and  quinoa.

image

Cook one cup of quinoa according to package instructions. Chop up the sweet potato, squash, and beets. Cut the stems out of the kale and tear into bite sized pieces. Drizzle everything with olive oil or coconut oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast the sweet potato and beets for 25 minutes at 400 degrees. Roast the kale and squash for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. Keep in mind that depending on how large you cut your veggies will determine roasting time. Smaller pieces = less time in the oven. 15 minutes for the kale will give you crispy kale which is how I like mine so cook yours for less time if like it less crispy.

image-4

**A little note about salt. Make sure you aren’t using chemically produced table salt in your home. Bad stuff! However, REAL salt (here’s where I get mine) is an essential, vital nutrient that our bodies need to survive. There’s a HUGE difference between the two. Click here to read a really informative article on our bodies and salt. Katie from Wellness Mama explains it much better than I could.

image-5Back to the recipe! Stir a little olive oil and salt into your quinoa. Arrange your fabulous, colorful veggies in a bowl along with the garbanzo beans, micro greens, and quinoa. Admire your handy work, snap a photo for Instagram, then devour. Like I said, I like this best mixed in a giant bowl and left in the fridge over night but it’s good when it’s hot, too!


Recipe

1 cup uncooked quinoa, cook according to package instructions

3 medium beets, chopped

1 large sweet potato, chopped

2 medium summer squash, sliced 1/4″-1/2″ thick

1/2 can garbanzo beans

Handful of micro greens of your choice

1 bunch of kale, stemmed and torn into bite sized pieces

3 Tbsp olive oil or fat of your choice (coconut oil, grassfed butter, etc.)

Salt and Pepper

Toss chopped sweet potato, beets, kale, and squash with olive oil, salt and pepper

Roast beets and sweet potato in the oven for 25 minutes

Roast kale and squash in the oven for 15 minutes

Once quinoa is cooked, toss in a bowl with a drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper

When veggies have cooled, arrange in a shallow bowl with your garbanzo beans, micro greens, and quinoa. You can drizzle the bowl with a little balsamic for some nice, added flavor.

Enjoy!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Power Meal Recipe

  1. Cally McNeely says:

    If you like new workout clothes, You should look up cross training couture! I think it’d be right up your ally!

Leave a Reply

