Peanut Butter Coconut Protein Bars

I love food. I love to cook food, read about food, learn about food, and mostly EAT food. I also love to prove that healthy food doesn’t have to be boring or tasteless. I get so sad when I see some gym buff post a picture of their dinner plate with a pale chicken breast and over cooked sweet potato on it. Whhhyyyyyyyy?!?!?! Their loss, I guess. The best food should be good for you and also taste amazing. End of story.

With that in mind, let me introduce you to a delectable little treat that I creatively call….Peanut Butter Coconut Protein Bars! Because, well, they’re made with peanut butter and coconut. Sorry, I’m typing this late at night, I’m not a night time person aaaaand nothing else came to mind. I promise you the taste is a lot more wonderful than the lame name. Anyways, I play around with different bar recipes a lot because my whole family loves them and you can cram a lot of good stuff in them that picky children won’t even notice. These are packed with protein so they’re great for after a workout, good for school lunch boxes, or even late at night while you’re typing a blog post! Oh, a little side note: for all of my recipes and all of the cooking you do, I recommend using high quality, organic ingredients whenever possible. Enjoy!

image-1

 

Recipe:

1/4 cup almond butter

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup raw honey

3 1/2 cups crispy rice cereal

1/2 cup finely chopped pecans

2 tbsp chia

1 tsp pure coconut extract

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut

 

I used a Chex type rice cereal for this recipe so if you are using something similar you will need to put the cereal in a large ziplock and crush it into small bits. If you’re using something more like Rice Crispy cereal you can skip this step. Pour the cereal into a large bowl. Melt the nut butters, coconut oil, and honey in a saucepan. Remove from heat and add the coconut extract and vanilla extract. Mix well. Pour the mixture over the cereal and stir well. Add in the chia and pecans. Stir until well combined. Line an 8×8 or 9×11 pan with a layer of coconut. Pour the cereal mixture on top of the coconut layer and pat down firmly. You can use parchment paper to do this. Stick the pan in the fridge or freezer until the mixture has hardened. Remove and cut into bars. When you take them out of the pan, flip them over and you’ll have a pretty layer of coconut on top. So easy and SO delicious! Save yourself some overly sugary after dinner regret and eat one of these when you’re craving dessert.

Cheers!

-Lauren

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Coconut Protein Bars

Leave a Reply

