Iced Coffee Protein Shake

Now that school is in full swing mornings are crazy around here. Between getting everyone breakfast, lunch packed, putting a semi coordinated outfit on the oldest and making sure the middle boy isn’t getting in the car completely nude (It’s happened. Don’t ask.), my beloved cup of coffee often ends up sitting out on the counter until I return from dropping my daughter off at school. After too many mornings of this happening and not being a big fan of reheated coffee, I decided to make a protein shake centered around my favorite beverage. And I must say, it turned out to be quite delicious.

This shake is especially good if you work out in the morning because it’s packed with protein and it will keep you full for hours. Another plus, there’s no artificial sweeteners, soy, GMO, or any other c.r.a.p. in this recipe! I’m *almost* back to my pre-baby weight so I am working really hard to get these last 10 pounds off. I’m having two meal replacement shakes a day to get there and it has really helped kick started my weight loss again because I had totally hit a plateau. I usually pack my lunchtime shake full of veggies, probiotics, etc. so it’s nice to spruce my morning shake up a little.

photo-1

 

Recipe:

3 scoops Nutrimeal Free

16 oz coconut or almond milk

16 oz brewed coffee, cooled

Sweetener of your choice (I used 1 tbsp raw honey)

1 tsp vanilla extract

Big handful of ice

Sooooooo yum. You can also play around with it by adding a tbsp of cocoa powder, or other extracts, too. Just make sure they’re REAL extracts and not imitation. That’s just chemical, artificial stuff that you definitely do not want to put in your body!

Let me know if you try the recipe!

-Lauren

 

One thought on “Iced Coffee Protein Shake

Leave a Reply

